On Leaving on Youtube

Just today, I noticed that my website is offline (I didn’t pay the fees again, stupid me), and I can’t get to my old recordings; maybe I never will be able to again? I assume I’ll be able to pay and get access again, but it’s scared the jeebees out of me. Some of those recordings may not be backed up anywhere else (really!)

One of my most treasured is the album On Leaving. In 2000 (or was it 1999?) Jodie & I recorded the album, at our own expense. The themes were change, loss, and transformation, with a very strong transhumanist theme (particularly amongst the songs I wrote). The accompaniment was all done on a cheap PC using a sequencer & midi. We hired a huge sound recording hall at the ABC studios in Southbank, Melbourne Australia, to record the voice, and a guy called Kimmo (Canberran musicians will likely know of him) did the mixing & mastering.

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to put this album online. Spurred by the shock re: the website, I found a copy on one of my machines at home, and have created videos for each track (just a static image + mp3 for each) and uploaded them to youtube. Here they are:

Here’s a playlist for the album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ibRC6FZJDE&feature=PlayList&p=D9DF93A5C3A4802C&index=0&playnext=1

Also, I’ve uploaded the mp3s to the internet archive: http://www.archive.org/details/OnLeaving

Wow, I hadn’t listened to these in years. I feel like I’m a much better singer now, but these are actually great pieces of work. I don’t feel as though I’ve done anything quite as inspired as this since. Really, what is my excuse for that?

On Leaving

On Leaving on Youtube

2 thoughts on “On Leaving on Youtube

  1. John Grigg says:

    Emlyn,

    Great stuff! I remember listening to some of this back in 2000. I think of it as “Klingon opera transhumanist music.” : )

    Take care,

    John

Leave a Reply

