Syyncc, AppEngine and Me

Angry Squid logo by Andrew Rose of Tamale Creative

I haven’t written much on my blog about my main personal software project, Syyncc. Syyncc, an AppEngine app, is my service for crossing posts and comments automatically between multiple social networks (originally Facebook, Buzz, now one way support for Google+ which will be full support when the API is released, and crappy broken support for WordPress, which I really must sort out).

(btw, Syyncc is in the process of getting a branding facelift, and becoming Angry Squid. But that’s for another post).

I built Syyncc to solve my own problem with social networks, which was that I felt stuck inside one network at a time. To use more than one network, you have to post across them all, then you have fragmented conversations, each in its own silo. Syyncc fixes this, by monitoring all your networks, moving public posts from one to all the others, then moving all comments made on that post, in whatever network, to all the other networks.

It’s a cool technology that I just built for myself. However, as soon as it existed, other people started asking me “how are you doing that, can I do that?” So I opened it up for anyone to use, sort of went into production by accident, and since then I’ve been on this crazy rollercoaster, dealing with a system with hundreds of users, and everything that goes with that.

Now I’m funding this out of my own pocket, and I’m pretty cheap. So very early on (really before Syyncc in fact), I spotted Google’s AppEngine; a high level Platform-as-a-service (PAAS), which I could use for free (as long as I stayed under the free quotas). I started teaching myself how to use the platform, and immediately had the idea of using it as a platform for monitoring other systems, and moving information around; the first thing I built was an RSS/Atom to Email service (which is hosted at http://www.productx.net), which I use for my newsfeeds. I’ve never been a Google Reader user, but I’m a gmailaholic, so this is still how I read newsfeeds. That service incidentally has some interesting stuff to it; terrible web design (apologies for the clouds!) but a model where you don’t need to log in in any way, the whole authentication mechanism is based on emails. Quite a few people use it (I’m not sure how many, it’s not really instrumented).

Anyway, ah yes, AppEngine. I’ve been amazed by the excellence of AppEngine. When I first saw it, I thought it was an incredibly compelling platform for small to medium enterprise development. Sure, there’s lock-in, and there was no guarantee that Google wouldn’t just shut it down (it was in “preview” status after all). But, it offered such an incredible effort multiplier (by providing all this high level, scalable platform that you don’t have to build or install or administrate yourself), that it was probably worth the risk, and then some.

And now with coming up on a couple of years experience with it, I’m satisfied that it’s a solid platform, a reliable platform. It’s been working spectacularly well for Syyncc, with very little down time (and certainly orders of magnitude less than I would have experienced if I were running my own equipment, because I’m a shitty admin, just like everyone else who isn’t a professional systems administrator). In fact, I’m convinced that Syyncc wouldn’t exist if I’d had the extra burden and cost of running my own equipment; I just wouldn’t have gotten it off the ground.

So I’ve been boosting it as a platform. I believe the experience for small companies moving from their own infrastructure (eg: LAMP on Linux, or IIS/.net on Windows), to AppEngine, will be like that of moving from hosting their own email to using gmail. You get to shed a bunch of worries and expense (machines, people supporting servers, infrastructural concerns) and get a much more dependable platform. You might lose service for a few hours a couple of times a year, but, in email, you’re comparing that to the average SME experience of running MS Exchange, which is that you have problems maybe every couple of weeks, email always seems to be going down, people lose email, people can’t get email remotely, etc etc etc. In developing and running bespoke web apps, you’re comparing maybe losing service for a few hours a few times a year, to the common experience of having running infrastructural issues causing outages on an ongoing basis (reboot the server!), file permission issues, issues with backups, hassle and expense and flakiness and the occasional catastrophic screw up (“um did I really just type “rm -rf *” ??” ) that kills you for days or even weeks.

The most recent example of this is that, in my new job at Ecampus, I’ve pushed for us to use AppEngine for new development. The company is about to begin building a lot of new interesting online apps, with an experimental element to a lot of the work, certainly with a need to be agile, and respond to changes in the company’s business direction as they emerge. I believe AppEngine is the best platform available to support the kind of rapid, agile work that we’ll be doing, so we’re jumping boots-first into it.

Now obviously this has been a scary path to take. Particularly, there have been no guarantees about the longevity of the platform. However, at Google I/O this year they announced that AppEngine would shortly be leaving preview status, and would gain some critical new guarantees – particularly a 99.95% uptime, and a 3 year deprecation policy. Which has now happened.

Since that announcement there’s been a surge of interest regarding business use of AppEngine. It’s suddenly something you can invest real time and money in. I’m not reading much about it, but I’m noticing personal contacts starting to talk about it in a business context, asking questions about viability. It’s on the map.

But something else has changed, and that’s the price. And it’s no small change.

But read more about that in my next post, “The Amazing Story Of Appengine And The Two Orders Of Magnitude”.

Syyncc, AppEngine and Me

One thought on “Syyncc, AppEngine and Me

Leave a Reply

